Making Friends

My journey to work is through countryside and woods, a house here and there, a small community.

The other day as I neared a pasture I saw two horses, nose to nose over a fence. I thought it was sweet. You don’t see that every day.  But as I got closer I realized it wasn’t two horses nose to nose over a fence.  It was a horse and an elk nose to nose over a fence. I’ve lived out here for 15 years and although I see lots of horses and plenty of elk I’ve never seen a horse and an elk nose to nose making friends.

I was traveling 45 mph so it took a couple of blocks before I could slow down and turn around and pull out my phone to get a picture.  But as I slowly pulled up along the pasture, the friendly elk spooked and turned to leave with the rest of his herd.

I hope they had time to exchange names before I interrupted their friendliness.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Making Friends

  1. dimettler

    🙂 I remember in Enumclaw there was an elk that made friends with a horse and during the winter months came down and jumped in the pen with the horse. I’m sure the farmer wasn’t thrilled with feeding it, but they seemed like fast friends.

Leave a comment