The Heart of a Child

It was Easter weekend and we were visiting our daughter and her family.  Hubby and daughter were part of the praise service at church.  Son-in-law had other church responsibilities.  So I was in charge of the two grandkids (yes!)

As the final song was starting the congregation was invited to come toward the altar and kneel.  I scooped up 18 month old granddaughter and asked grandson, not yet 4, to come with us.  We walked up front where I knelt and the kids sat on the floor in front of me.  We began to sing Just as I am, I come empty to be filled. There is so much hurt and sorrow in this world and some of it is so very close.  I couldn’t control the tears.

A chorus or two into the song, grandson turned around and saw me crying.  He didn’t say anything. He just scooted back until he was tucked under my arm and I held him close.

The heart of a child.

2 Comments

Filed under Grandparenting, Happiness, Kindness, Small Happinesses

2 responses to “The Heart of a Child

  1. dimettler

    Awww. You’re making me well up.

Leave a comment